A Frozen Flower: Brokeback Mountain of Korea

Left to Right: Jo In-sung, Song Ji-hyo, Ju Jin-mo

This is the scan of the free post card from the movie. Left to Right: Jo In-sung, Song Ji-hyo, Ju Jin-mo

When Tatum invited me to watch this movie last 25 April, I was hesitant at first. Didn’t know much about Korean stars nor any info about this movie at that time. Anyway, it’s Tatum treat so why not. Of course we checked if there’s an English sub-title first so that’s the time I decided to watch it. Inside, I sat in between Tatum on my right while Mike is on my left.

How did I know that this movie is gay themed? In the beginning of the movie when  a very cute teenage prince was watching this  group of young boys training to be his “soldiers” slash Kunryongwe. My gaydar already sensed something fishy about this “prince” the way he looked at this very adept boy while training. Fast forward, the prince became a King, played by Jo Jin-mo and the adept boy became the chief of Kunryongwe named Hong Lim, played by Jo In-sung. Fast forward and more blah blah blah, proving my theory further was this particular scene where Hong Lim brushes the long, straight, black hair of the King from the back. You could feel the “strangeness” of that scene while Hong Lim was asking for the King’s pardon not to execute one of their soldiers for trying to elope one of the Queen’s female servants. So I laughed quietly. “Damn! I almost missed this movie if I refused to watch it with Tatum”, I told myself.

Overall, the movie is a must-see movie for gays. I’d say it is Korea’s answer to Brokeback Mountain though A Frozen Flower is based on a true story during the Goryeo era of Korea filled with lovely costumes and jam-packed action combined with intensed dramatic scenes. If you are a “butt lover”, expect Jo In-sung and a bunch more of Korean extras exposing their buns here. The sex scenes between Jo In-sung and Jo Jin-mo were done with careful and tasteful craftsmanship that one may feel more romantic rather than erotic except of course for the torrid kissing parts. The short yet powerful lines of the King to Hong Lim are something to ponder among gays especially when the most common yet delicate topic is LOVE: HOMOSEXUAL LOVE, BISEXUAL LOVE & TRUE LOVE.

Wonder Thought for the Day: The moral I’ve learnt from the movie particularly from the King’s protocol is, “DO NOT EAT WHAT YOU SH*T”. I believe most of us gay people are victims of our stupid, playful decisions in life that at the end of it we are left nothing but feeling sorry for what we have done…sometimes.

The moment I saw Jo In-sung, I told Tatum that there's one Thai singer which resembles his face. At that time, I can't remember the name of "Ruj" Suparuj Taychathanon (right pic), a runner-up from Star 4 Singing Contest. They have a resemblance, don't they?

The moment I saw Jo In-sung, I told Tatum that there's one Thai singer which resembles his face. At that time, I can't remember the name of "Ruj" Suparuj Taychathanon (right pic), a runner-up from Star 4 Singing Contest. They have a resemblance, don't they?

Here's a sexy pic of Jo In-sung in tight boxer brief for you to fantasize.

Here's a sexy pic of Jo In-sung in tight boxer brief for you to fantasize.

Wanna peek of Jo In-sung’s bun?  Click here. For more of images of Jo In-sung including his baby pics, here.

