2 New Filipino Idols, Manny Pacquiao & Brillante Mendoza: Who Gets The Shorter Straw?

Director Brillante Mendoza flanked by actor Coco Martin (left) and actress Ma. Isabel Lopez (right) while Hollywood director Quentin Tarantino (standing far left) applauds for Brillante.

Director Brillante Mendoza flanked by actor Coco Martin (left) and actress Ma. Isabel Lopez (right) while Hollywood director Quentin Tarantino (standing far left) applauds for Mendoza, the first Filipino who won an award at Cannes Film Festival.

Manny Pacquiao shakes hands with Thai Prime MInister Abhisit Vejjajiva at the Government House in Bangkok last 25th May.

Manny Pacquiao shakes hands with Thai Prime MInister Abhisit Vejjajiva at the Government House in Bangkok last 25th May.

Last week was a hectic one for me for I accompanied my aunt who visited from Philippines prior to the past two earlier hectic weeks that I had which I will blog soon. Talking about last week, it was also triumphant week for Filipinos who made name and special appearances outside Manila: director Brillante Mendoza, the first Filipino who won at Cannes Film Festival last 24th May while world-class boxing champ Manny Pacquiao invaded Thailand and even shook hands with the Thai Prime Minister last 25th May.

Last Wednesday, I received an email from my boss reminding me of an event that will happen today (31 May) at the Philippine Embassy. She didn’t say anything about what the event is all about only until I learnt from my other Pinoy friends at the church today that Manny Pacquiao will be at the Philippine Embassy. And did I attend it? No. Not because I don’t want to but because I already had promised my kumare to join her shopping at Samphaeng Market for some items for her business in Philippines. Because if I didn’t, she will not give me the lechon paksiw which she brought all the way from Philippines from her very recent trip, a box filled with creamy yema & assorted flavored polvoron, a big pack of Boy Bawang Cornick and her home-made bagoong that could stand the level of Chowking and Barrio Fiesta bottled ones sold at the groceries.

Back to the main subjects Pacquiao & Mendoza, seriously, I am so honored for these two Filipinos for putting our flag in the map once again in their respective fields. However, it seems like Pacquiao is the only one taking the most merits. Everytime Pacquiao goes home with the bacon, the whole Filipino community welcomes him with open arms which was good. But when Mendoza arrived in Manila from France, there was no media, no government official or staff nor any welcome home victory banner prepared for Mendoza which was bad. And I’m not the only one who felt the same.

Here’s the email letter from Plutarco Benedictos which he sent to the cinema YG where we are both a member…

“Watching TV Patrol World at The Filipino Channel (TFC) yesterday re the arrival of Brilliante Mendoza from Cannes, France where here made history by becoming the first Filipino to win  the best director award, I was struck by the lack of fanfare in contrast to the homecoming of Manny Pacquiao. No fans jostling with each other and no journalists and press photographers in sight save from ABS-CBN and possibly other TV networks.

If we could welcome boxers and other dubious personalities with great  fanfare couldn’t we do the same  to Mendoza who has made all Filipinos proud by besting film greats like Palme d’ Or and Oscar winners Quentin Tarantino, Ang Lee, Pedro Almodovar, Jane Campion and Lars von Trier, among others? Sadly, this is the victory of brawn over brains.”

Like I said earlier, I am so proud for both of them but it seems like the treatment for these two Pinoy idols slash modern heroes are not divided equally. Mendoza clearly gets the shorter straw which now leads me thinking, “Was the pen really mightier than the sword?” Or in Pacquiao’s case, ” Was the pen beaten over by a fist?”

More pics of Mendoza with his glorious moments from this video. To see the video of Pacquiao with Abhisit, Boxing Core has more while Thai Photo Blogs has another pic.

